Showing posts with label lindt chocolate. Show all posts
Showing posts with label lindt chocolate. Show all posts

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Tanqueray and Lindt Tasting



If there was ever a reason to believe in angels, it happened to me about two weeks ago. I was just checking my mail when bam! Into my inbox pops an invite to a gin and chocolate tasting workshop. This was my reaction.


Then I looked closer, this was not just any chocolate nor was it any gin, these were the big guns, the forerunners, the Tony Sopranos of the gang. I was going to a Tanqueray and Lindt Tasting. Can you deal? Because I can’t. I spent the whole of last week dropping names even when the conversation topic was nowhere now my subject. ‘Oh your aunt died, you know what you should serve at the wake? Gin. Speaking of…”

So I got together with one of my best gurls Sara and we made our way to the Lindt Chocolate studio at the Cape Quarter. When we arrived, I had to take a second. If you follow this blog and my tweets or had the sad misfortunate of seeing me at the shops, you’ll know, I am a fat kid. I live for carbs and sugar and chocolate is my church. So when I arrived at my version of St Paul’s, girlfriend had to take a moment and show some respect.


 

Once I had embarrassed Sara enough we made our way inside and found our seats near the front. As soon as we sat down, we were given these delicious gin gimlet cocktails. I’m sure we were told what was in them but all I remember was birds singing, the sound of the ocean and all my cares floating away. They were that good.

Then we got down to business. Tanqueray, already a master in quality and taste, teamed with Lindt’s Excellence chocolate range to create taste explosions in the form of new cocktails paired perfectly with different chocolates from the range. Thanks to a mixologist (a fancy term for a barman to the rest of us) and Lindt chocolatiers (super fancy chocolate person) we were given the background to gin, chocolate as well a demonstration on how to create these new cocktails and why these chocolates are so perfectly paired.

While we sipped our gimlets, we were given a history of gin. Did you know there are four types? Tanqueray is a Dry London, which means I still have three others to taste. I consider this research. We also got to have a look at what makes gin, gin. It’s a whole bunch of seeds and stuff. The finished project is a whole lot more exciting.

Next up was a mini lesson in how Lindt chocolate is made. I was really interested and keen until I got distracted. Right next to the lovely chocolatier, there was this machine from which chocolate poured out. Like liquid. I wanted to stick my head underneath and just lay there. But that type of behaviour gets you uninvited from PR lists so I had to stay put.

Enlarge the pic.
 Then it got a little bit dirty. With the help of the fancy pants barman we learnt how to make cocktails. Apparently just pouring alcohol and a mixer is not a cocktail. Weird ;)


  This is Sara doing her thang at an apple and gin mojito and the final product. This drink was delish and was paired with the Lindt Mint Intense. 



Next up I had a go at trying to make a coconut and honey something. I really must take proper notes at these things. Boys, please note the wrist action and that I am available for dates. Also bring the Coconut Lindt, it’s amazing with this drink. 




Sara then attempted her hand at this wasabi, cucumber concoction. She loved it. I pretended to when I was asked about it. Also the Wasabi chocolate is something I have avoided for ages. I tasted it here and while it’s tasty Imma gonna stick to my coconut one. 


The final cocktail of the night consisted of raw eggs (for reals), caramel vodka, coffee liqueur, gin and something else. At this point, I had had three cocktails and really was game for anything. Until I remembered there were raw eggs involved. Can you tell how nervous I was. This one was definitely an acquired taste. But the white chocolate that came with it was insane. That is a winner.



So while my alkie-side was taken care of, my fat kid side was looking for some attention. She got it in the form of a chocolate fondant. We watched the boys mix stuff, fold stuff and put things into a piping bag. Let me tell you, it’s sexy. And the best bit, it only took 8 minutes to bake. And then whoop! There is it, chocolate fondant with coconut ice-cream. I literally had to will myself to take this picture before eating it. The smell was so intoxicating my will power disappeared. 




Sadly then it was time to go but not before being rewarded with goodie bags. I say reward like I did something heroic. Inside the bag were recipe cards for Lindt and Tanqueray, a slab of Lindt and a whole bottle of gin. You see what I mean about reward?!

To all the angels I now believe in, thanks for getting us in and for having us. Your work is amaze.

Ex-Oh! Ex-Oh!


Sunday, April 12, 2009

oh no, I just ate the entire bunny....

OMG, right now I feel completely and utterly sick. The only thing that is saving me from turning green is the strong smell of coffee brewing in the kitchen as I type. But I just couldn't help myself. Let me explain myself, from the beginning.


Two of my bestest friends are Catholic and so each year lent dawns upon them, and me being a fabulous person (although notably not catholic), join in on the fasting of some luxury/indulgent 'thing'. The first year I can't remember what I gave up (probably swearing), the second it was Coca Cola (and yes I haven't touched it since, power to me), last year...mmm can't remember, and this year I unforgivenly gave up CHOCOLATE. Now I know what you're thinking, "stupid girl" and you're right. I should have given up sweets, vegetables, wearing jeans, but I didn't and it was too late for me to go back on my word and so the long month began. It went surprisingly well, even though at work I had two chocolate bars sitting in my desk drawer and the fact that my own mother kept 'accidentally' buying all things chocolate (as revenge I suspect). But the tables turned on thursday when, after a shit week at work, I caved in and had some early easter choccie. Did I feel guilty you ask? No, I was riding to high on those damm endorphins.



The problem came this morning when I woke to a little golden bunny with a red bow and bell around his neck. I think you all know what Im referring to, YES, my very own Lindt Bunny. Poor bunny didn't last very long as I started munching his ears, then tail and then suddenly 'poof' he was gone. Now I don't feel guilty for the bunny, I mean, he was created for the purpose of being eaten by someone who would appreciate him, someone like me. I just feel utterly gross now, like too much chocolate, way too fast can never be a good thing, even if it is Lindt. So now as I type this, im staring at the picture below this (of the bunnies) and I feel awful....I do not feel skinny, however I do feel like a glutton bitch.

A word to the wise....if you eat chocolate you will never become skinny...

B.E.

Thursday, April 2, 2009

Introduction to who us Skinny Bitches are!

So as we’ve just joined the cool club of bloggers, we thought we should introduce ourselves. Explain exactly why is it we’re not skinny, still living at home and are permanently broke, so here it goes:

Me, being Blue Eyes (for obvious reasons), am far from being skinny. Please see post about chocolate to understand why. But to be honest I still think I’d choose chocolate over being skinny, at least I will be happy and not hungry. My friend Green Eyes, she’s not skinny too, but she has awesome curves, fashion sense and killer boobs to make it work, I wish you could see her run across a street, it’s like something out of Sex and the City. Either way, I think we’re both pretty happier although Green Eyes is currently best buddies with a dietician and she’s gone all healthy on me (But I will get revenge, I know chocolate it her weakness…mwah ha ha).

Another sore topic is the fact that we’re both still living at home. It’s not that we hate being at home, it’s just that you can’t exactly be FABULOUS will you’re still being told to make your bed or clean up after yourself. I doubt whether Queens have that problem to deal with on a daily basis. We have this dream (which we hope will soon be a reality) to move into the Cape Town CBD . In our fabulous new home, we will have a pink kitchen, blue bathroom, purple/red & black sitting room and sexy, cute neighbours who dine with us on regular occasion. If you think we’re joking, well then you obviously haven’t seen us shopping up a storm at Canal Walk and spending hours talking over colour choices at Seattle. And if you’re wondering, YES! Pink, blue, purple/red & black will work together.

So this brings me to the next sore point; CASH FLOW. Maybe this is a problem because we’re spendaholics, or because we like to eat out or maybe it’s just a direct reflexion of the fact that we’re newbies within the big wide working world. Me, personally, going with the last excuse. Green Eyes has been working for the last year and a bit for an online marketing agency where she has turned their world fashionably upside side. As if you haven’t guessed, she’d like (or should I say love) to be a fashion journalist or writer for a magazine and I’m proud to say she’s working on it…so watch this space. Me, I recently started working within the advertising world and am not complaining. Great people, great environment and a good stepping stone. Ultimately I want to be in marketing as a Brand manager… ideally for Lindt Chocolate.

Well, that’s a brief introduction to us Skinny Bitches (in the Making), there’s lot more to tell and give away…but that will all come later. We hope you love our blog as much as we do. We get the biggest kick out of hanging around each other and dreaming our lives away and we hope you will too.
Happy reading…

B.E.